I Joined a Coloring Club

Three months ago, my friend decided to create a Ladies Coloring Club. For two hours once a month, we would meet at a local coffee shop and color. Anyone interested?

Crayons, Coloring Books, really? But a night out after working at home all day by myself –  with good coffee, friends…I’m in.

So I went off to the first coloring night with my new box of Crayola Crayons and a new Disney princess coloring book I had quickly picked up at Target. There was much coloring, talking and coffee and most of all, it was relaxing. I finished three different pages in my new coloring book.

After posting to Facebook some of the pictures I colored, the comments started to come. Friends who thought it sounded like fun, others who had already taken up coloring as adults and others who responded, “You did what?”

coloring2I did some searching on Amazon for grown-up coloring books after I got home. Much to my amazement, there was a whole world of what I would call advanced level of coloring books. It didn’t take too long for me to find many options from which to choose, but I settled on a book called The Secret Garden (check it out on Amazon.com).

It took me the next two coloring sessions to finish the first two page spread. I stuck to using crayons though I mistakenly worked right to left. I can do better the next time – Left to Right.

coloring1This weekend, I thought I would like try color pencils for the next two page spread. So off to the store I went and was presented with so many choices. Some very expensive ones and fortunately some more reasonably priced ones. Now I’m ready for the next session as soon as it’s scheduled.

So if you are thinking to yourself I think it would be fun to do some coloring, then check out my friend’s blog. She detailed out how to start your own club: Ladies Love Coloring (How to Start Coloring Club) on Bright Shiny Things.

You don’t have to make it a night-out, you could also make it a night-in. For those of you with kids, you could include them in the fun and have a kids table OR make it a play time for them and coloring for the adults.

Either way, it’s a great opportunity to take some time for yourself and relax.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

